ASK JACK - About the Rules of Golf

If you would like to make a comment or ask Jack about the Rules of Golf,  please provide your name (First name will do) and question, then click SEND. Jack will respond on this page.

Comments: 73
  • #73

    Jack (Thursday, 17 October 2019 18:32)

    Ref #72
    Good question Macke, and the best way to answer it is for me to quote Rule 18.2a :-
    "(1) When Ball Is Lost. A ball is lost if not found in three minutes after the player or his or her caddie begins to search for it.
    If a ball is found in that time but it is uncertain whether it is the player’s ball:
    The player must promptly attempt to identify the ball (see Rule 7.2) and is allowed a reasonable time to do so, even if that happens after the three-minute search time has ended.
    This includes a reasonable time to get to the ball if the player is not where the ball is found.
    If the player does not identify his or her ball in that reasonable time, the ball is lost."
    The main point here is that the 3-minute search time limit does not start until the player or caddie begin the search. The player cannot give anyone, other than the caddie, authority to search. Anyone else searching is only being helpful.
    If there are supporters and/or spectators it is normal for any nearby to start searching for any player's ball.

  • #72

    Macke (Thursday, 17 October 2019 01:23)

    Subject: search time for the ball .
    Almost in all cases when the player authorise somebody to do anything with his / her ball , the player is responsible for the action of that person, but this is not the case with search time , the player may authorise 10 people (friends and family members) to start searching as soon as the players Tee off and before the player reach the spot where the his / her ball may be found , and that may result in 10 people search for the player in around 5 minutes before the player join them and then continue all of including the player for additional 3 minutes which make it unfair search time to the fellow competitor who is alone and has 3 minutes search time. This situation is very common in amateur competition specially on club level.
    (it is different for PGA, LPGA etc where ther is always a lot of spectators who are volentary helps all players without authorisation from players) . Why couldn´t be the search time 3 minutes when any body start searching for the ball authorised by the player or his caddy. should it not be the game fair in all aspects even in search time.
    What is the reason that USGA and R&A has a good interpretation on this?
    Thankful for answer
    Macke

  • #71

    Jack (Thursday, 10 October 2019 19:05)

    ref #69
    You are quite correct "golfing joe", but I did not considerate it necessary to go into the full relief procedure for a Red Penalty Area.
    To answer his question in detail I would have required a full description of the hole - including bunker, green and penalty area.

  • #70

    Jack (Thursday, 10 October 2019 18:55)

    ref #68
    You did not tell me whether you were playing Stroke or Match Play Roy, as the answers are covered under different Rules.
    Rule 11.2b A player gets the general penalty if he or she deliberately deflects or stops any ball in motion.
    General Penalty - Loss of hole in match play or two penalty strokes in stroke play.
    Stroke Play -
    Rule 11.2b(2) The stroke does not count, and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot and replayed.
    Match Play -
    Rule 3.2b(1) - The player may concede the opponent's next stroke by deflecting or stopping the opponent's ball in motion.
    For more information Roy, go to - https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/the-rules-of-golf

  • #69

    golfing_joe (Wednesday, 09 October 2019 16:39)

    Jack. Your answer #67 is strange. The guy does not say where the flagstick is, he just said he hit it over the green. It would have to be a very precise point of entry to not have a valid relief area. It would almost take some string measured from the flagstick to prove no point of the equidistant arc is further from the hole. I would always offer something, even if it was just a slither outside the penalty area.

  • #68

    Roy T. (Wednesday, 09 October 2019 04:10)

    My opponent stopped my putt deliberately with his club on the green, what is the penalty please.

  • #67

    Jack (Sunday, 29 September 2019 03:35)

    Ref #66
    Your ball is in - what is now called a Red Penalty Area - and from your description your only option is Stroke and Distance Kurtis. That is dropping a ball back in the bunker within one club-length of where your last stroke was made. Penalty one stroke.
    You can drop out from a penalty area within two club-lengths of where it entered, but in your case this would be nearer the hole, so not available.

  • #66

    Kurtis (Sunday, 29 September 2019 00:19)

    If i hit outta a bunker and it flew over the green into a red stake hazard can i drop the ball in line behind the bunker

  • #65

    Kathy (Thursday, 26 September 2019 07:01)

    Thanks for your answer.
    My understanding of Rule 1.3c(4) is that when multiple breaches of the same rule occur before an intervening event (i.e., her stroke), she would receive one penalty stroke - so if she did not mark her ball before lifting at 3 separate locations on a hole, she would receive an additional 3 penalty strokes for that hole under Rule 14.1. However, if each time she also played from a wrong place, she would receive the higher penalty of two strokes under Rule 14.7 for a total of 6 penalty strokes on the hole.
    Also, I don't think Rule 14.1b is applicable in this case because Rule 7.3 gives the player the authority to lift a ball if it "cannot be identified as it lies". I think what's at issue here is the phrase "cannot be identified as it lies" because we're talking about her ability to identify a ball without her glasses. The question becomes - is it reasonably necessary to lift the ball to identify it.
    Thanks again for your help. I think I'm pretty well armed to take this situation on the next time it arises.

  • #64

    Jack (Tuesday, 24 September 2019 18:36)

    Ref #63
    Kathy you will need a Rule book to understand my reply.... we have several Rules that apply to your question.
    First, the lifting to identify is covered under Rule 7.3 as your player gets a one-stroke penalty for not marking before lifting.
    Secondly, under the same Rule, she would incur another penalty if she cleaned the ball more than necessary to identify it.
    Thirdly, if she doesn't replace her ball on the same place, she can be penalised under Rule 14.7a with a two-stroke penalty for playing from a wrong place.
    Lastly, under Rule 1.3c(4) for multiple breaches of the same acts, she would incur only one of each penalty for the whole round.
    Finally, you must read Rule 14.1 which covers marking, lifting, cleaning and who may lift ball. The last one - Rule 14.1b - answers your question about lifting a fellow competitor's ball without authority.
    If you are playing Match Play, read Rule 9.5 for rulings.
    A bit of reading required Kathy, but I hope it all helps.

  • #63

    Kathy (Monday, 23 September 2019 18:13)

    Hi Jack - I play with someone who refuses to wear her glasses on the course. As a result, she cannot identify her ball unless she brings it up to her nose to look at it. On top of that, she never marks before she lifts and she nonchalantly tosses the ball back in the general vicinity of the original spot instead of replacing the ball on the original spot. Unfortunately, she does this to her fellow-competitors' balls as well as her own. Rule 7.3 seems to imply she will receive a penalty if she takes these actions with her own ball, but if she takes the same actions to my ball in stroke play, my ball is treated as being moved by an outside influence and she does not receive a penalty. Is this correct? I'm having a hard time understanding how she can do this dozens of times over a round and walk away without a single penalty.

  • #62

    Jack (Thursday, 12 September 2019 18:31)

    Ref #61
    The definition of "Holed" states -
    "When a ball is at rest in the hole after a stroke and the entire ball is below the surface of the putting green."
    There is no Rule that says a ball in the hole must be removed before another putts, but if there is any chance that the ball already in the hole might prevent the second ball from fully complying with that definition, it would be sensible to remove the first ball.
    Hope this answers your question Terry.

  • #61

    Terry (Tuesday, 10 September 2019 11:46)

    If someone has put their ball in the hole, can I putt my ball into the hole as well, or does the first ball have to be removed.
    Thank you

  • #60

    Jack (Wednesday, 04 September 2019 04:22)

    Ref #59
    Rule 4.1a (3) Reads as follows: Deliberately Changing Club’s Performance Characteristics During Round.
    A player must not make a stroke with a club whose performance characteristics he or she deliberately changed during the round (including while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a)
    By applying any substance to the clubhead (other than in cleaning it) to affect how it performs in making a stroke.
    Before the club is used to make a stroke, if it is restored as nearly as possible to its original position by adjusting the feature back to where it was, there is no penalty and the club may be used to make a stroke.
    Penalty for Making Stroke in Breach of Rule 4.1a: Disqualification.
    That is all pretty decisive Simon - "Any Substance" even water is not allowed. You will have to try a different method to hit your ball straight!!!

  • #59

    Simon (Tuesday, 03 September 2019 15:57)

    I normally hit a big fade with my driver, but playing in the rain recently, with a wet clubface, I noticed I was driving it straight. Since then I have been wetting the clubface with a squirt of water before my drive and it goes straight.Is there anything in the rules that says that I'm not allowed to do that? Thanks

  • #58

    Jack (Monday, 29 July 2019 14:04)

    Re #57
    Thanks for the explanation Zubair. When you said that you had taken a free pick of your partners ball that was on the path, I assumed that was your choice of ball.
    I have no knowledge of the Rules of the game you were playing as it is a variation of Foursomes, but you will have to ask a local rules official if picking up the first ball and dropping it, is considered your pick, even if you didn't hit it.

  • #57

    Zubair (Monday, 29 July 2019 11:32)

    Hi Jack
    Let me try to explain what happened
    Both partners were supposed to hit the first shot. After that we had to select one ball to play alternate shots. My partners ball hit from tee was eligible for free drop. So i took the free drop. But we selected my ball( hit from tee) as the best ball. The opponents claimed the hole on the basis that once we took a free drop we had to play that ball only. In other words we had to select the best ball before taking the free drop. I hope i have made it clear.

  • #56

    Jack (Monday, 29 July 2019 04:20)

    Ref #55
    Hi Zubair
    You tell me you were playing Foursomes (Alternate Shot) but you and your partner were both teeing off at each hole!
    In true Foursomes, one partner tees off on the odd numbered holes for the whole round and the other player tees off on all the even numbered holes, then the partners must alternate strokes for the rest of the hole
    being played.
    The game you played must be a local form of Foursomes which is not included in the Rules of Golf, however, reading your question I assume you were only allowed one "pick" and as you and your partner changed your choice after you had played his ball, you had another "pick" and broke the Rules which means your opponents were correct.
    Being unaware of the Rules of your game, that is my guess!! (Where was the game played?)
    Regards, Jack

  • #55

    Zubair (Sunday, 28 July 2019 11:52)

    Hi
    We were playing foursome ( alternate shots). Everyone was supposed to hit from the tee and after selecting the best ball the game was to be played on the basis of alternate shots. My partner hit the ball from the tee into the rough, close to the path where I was eligible for a free pick. My tee shot was in the fareway.
    I took a free pick of my partners ball. After the freepick the ball got a bad lie and my partner decided to play my drive shot. To this our opponents objected and claimed the hole. They contented that since I had taken the free pick it was mandatory to play the same ball, or we had to decide the best ball to be hit before the freepick was taken.
    Please explain the rule
    Thanks in advance.

    Zubair A Ashai

  • #54

    Jack (Thursday, 11 July 2019 04:04)

    Ref #52
    Having found that the original ball is in play, the provisional ball can now be abandoned. There is no time limit to look for it as long as you are not causing any hold-up on the course.
    Just a matter of good course Etiquette.

  • #53

    Jack (Thursday, 11 July 2019 03:49)

    Ref #51
    The following is the official R&A wording that answers your question John:-
    For two penalty strokes, the player may take relief by dropping the original ball or another ball in this relief area (see Rule 14.3):
    Two Estimated Reference Points:
    (a). Ball Reference Point: The point where the original ball is estimated to have:
    • Come to rest on the course, or
    • Last crossed the edge of the course boundary to go out of bounds.
    (b). Fairway Reference Point: The point of fairway of the hole being played that is nearest to the ball reference point, but is not nearer the hole than the ball reference point.
    The main point is you must not drop the ball on the fairway any closer to the hole. Come back to me John if you would like any more explanation. Cheers Jack

  • #52

    Joe (Wednesday, 10 July 2019 16:37)

    Par 3

    First ball maybe OB. Provisional ball is played and may be lost. Its quickly established that original ball is in play. Is anytime allowed to look for the provisional ball?

  • #51

    John Wallbank (Tuesday, 09 July 2019 21:22)

    Playing hole 4 your tee shot goes into rough on 16th hole. Your ball is lost. Where do you play next shot from if club has rule that you can drop a ball on fairway if ball goes out of bounds or lost on hole you are playing?

  • #50

    Jack (Tuesday, 18 June 2019 17:46)

    Ref #49
    Yes Diane, if you read Rule 11.1 you will see all the Rules regarding a ball in motion striking something, and in answer to your question - YES, you are penalised 2-strokes.
    This is clearly stated under Rule 11.1a Exception -
    "Ball Played on Putting Green in Stroke Play:
    If the player’s ball in motion hits another ball at rest on the putting green and both balls were on the putting green before the stroke, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes)."

  • #49

    Diane (Monday, 17 June 2019 11:28)

    Playing a tri-am is there a penalty if you hit a teammate’s ball when both balls are on the putting green?

  • #48

    Jack (Saturday, 01 June 2019 19:25)

    Ref #47
    The new Local Rule for a ball lost or out-of-bounds is only available to players if the golf club they are playing on has the Local Rule posted on a Rules Board (or similar).
    NZ Golf has issued the following information on this subject:-
    The purpose of this Local Rule is to allow a golf club or Committee to provide an extra relief option that allows a player to play on without returning to the location of the previous stroke.
    It is New Zealand Golf’s recommendation that the Stroke and Distance Local Rule is introduced for all play at golf clubs in New Zealand, with the exception of elite play.
    Elite play is defined as
    • Club Championships
    • Club and District Opens
    • National Championships
    While it is New Zealand Golf’s recommendation to introduce the Stroke and Distance Local Rule, it is still at the discretion of each District Association and individual golf clubs to introduce as and when they choose to do so.
    Kenmo you have stumped on the subject of a supplementary card! I can see references to it on some websites, but have never heard of it in New Zealand.

  • #47

    Kenmo (Friday, 31 May 2019 12:29)

    New 2019 rule on lost ball is a local rule at my club. However, I have been told that it does not apply to competions or medals. When searching the web I can only find reference to professional competitions and elite amateurs where the new does not apply.
    Also, what about a supplementary card?

  • #46

    Jack (Monday, 27 May 2019 19:13)

    Ref #45
    The R&A / USGA issued three books covering the New Rules from 1st January 2019.
    "The Player's Edition", "The Rules of Golf" and "Official Guide to the Rules of Golf". The first two make little or no reference to Local Rules, but the third book has large coverage of Model Local Rules which includes the one you refer to with diagram. (It is MLR E-5).
    This is all available at the R&A website as follows -
    https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/committee-toolkit
    There's lots to read Barry, good luck.

  • #45

    barry vandenameele (Monday, 27 May 2019 15:42)

    in the newest edition of the RULES OF GOLF, there is no mention of the optional local rule for ball out of bounds or ball lost.
    Why aren't those options in the rule book?

  • #44

    Jack (Monday, 20 May 2019 00:57)

    Ref #43
    I have been unavailable the past week Barbara, but as a follow-up to your last message, I ask you to look at the following link to the "Official Guide to the Rules of Golf 2019" which lists "Interpretations" not called "Decisions" now!
    https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/interpretations/rule-3-interpretations#3-3b-4-1

    Read Interpretations - 3.3b(4)/1 - and - 3.3b(4)/2
    It appears to me that this matter should have been fully checked out before the disqualification.

  • #43

    Barbara (Wednesday, 15 May 2019 10:46)

    The adjustment made was to the net score for the first round ie upwards. The confusion seems to be around what the player was responsible for as regards recording her handicap on the card. I have now found in Decisions on the Rules 6-2b/0.5 as to the meaning of ‘handicap’ in regards to the scorecard : “He(the player) must record his full handicap . It is the committee’s responsibility to apply the conditions of competition to adjust his handicap”. The player in question put her NZGA handicap on the card for the first round and was disqualified for that!?

  • #42

    Jack (Wednesday, 15 May 2019 03:52)

    Ref # 41
    It is unclear from your message Barbara, what adjustment was made by the committee after the first round.
    However, it was certainly a condition of the Tournament that the maximum handicap allowed was 40. Although you say the full conditions were not on display, it is up to players to check conditions and Local Rules before playing.
    I consider the committee made the correct decision based on Rule 20.2e (2) which details reasons for disqualification.
    The main problem appears to be poor organisation by the committee in not ensuring that all the tournament information was clearly advised to all players before play.

  • #41

    Barbara (Wednesday, 15 May 2019 01:10)

    In a national home links ladies 36 hole foursomes comp played over 2 days, a week apart, a 23 and 44 handicap player were paired up on the first day with the encouragement of the vice club captain. A full notice of the conditions was not on display. The pair played well but it was realised after the results of the first round that the conditions of the comp allowed a maximum handicap of 40. Their score was adjusted accordingly by the committee and they played the second round the next week with the correct handicap adjustment on their card for that round. They were announced as having won the competition within their home club. Then a week later it was announced by the vice captain that they had been disqualified because they had played the first round with an incorrect handicap on their card. Both players had entered their NZGA handicaps on the card for the first round not realising there was a maximum handicap condition for the competition. The club match committee was not consulted. Should the pair have been disqualified?


  • #40

    Jack (Wednesday, 08 May 2019 03:13)

    Ref # 39
    There should be no confusion Peter as there is just the one Local Rule.
    When we wrote the new Local Rules for the club, the wording was simplified to make it more easily understood compared to the original R&A document.
    Check our Local Rules board for the details.
    If you want to see the full wording go to https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/pages/local-rules-creator?localRulesCreatorId=359cfec3-3405-49a2-9158-b7baf60c1147 and read E5. (It need some carefull reading !!). Cheers.

  • #39

    Peter (Wednesday, 08 May 2019 00:59)

    Thanks Jack. As I thought ++! - Great explanation.
    Are members perhaps confusing (1) the out of bounds rule and (2) the 'anywhere' lost ball rule that you describe? There would seem to have been a number of such instances recently, albeit with the number of penalty strokes 'correctly' counted.

  • #38

    Jack (Tuesday, 07 May 2019 22:37)

    Ref # 37
    Two things are wrong in your question Peter. If his second shot went into "never never land" it is unclear where he dropped his new ball. Under the Local Rule for lost balls, you must determine the spot where the ball is likely to be lost. That spot is the reference point for deciding where another ball can be dropped. Dropping "on fairway roughly in line with ball's last seen flight. (inside 2 club lengths of edge)" is completely wrong!!
    Your score count is also incorrect. When his second ball was lost, the dropped ball meant his next shot to the green would be his fifth, then with a chip and a putt, the final score would be seven.
    Finally, the player should have been penalised under Rule 14.7b for playing from a wrong place, which would have meant disqualification.
    Sorry Peter - tough call!!

  • #37

    Peter (Tuesday, 07 May 2019 18:30)

    Hello Jack.
    Please clarify WGC local rule.
    Scene - Par 5 hole.
    Tee shot - OK
    2nd shot - Ball disappears into never-never land.
    Player drops ball on fairway roughly in line with ball's last seen flight. (inside 2 club lengths of edge).
    Player hits new ball to near edge of green.
    Chips on.
    Holes putt.
    Scores 6 on card.
    OK?
    Thanks Jack.

  • #36

    Jack (Sunday, 21 April 2019 17:27)

    Ref # 35
    What a fun question Karen! It sounds that you were having an interesting game.
    As far as the Rules of Golf are concerned the player did nothing wrong and no penalties would apply, but your suggestion that a visit to Specsavers should be on the cards makes sense.
    The first Rule of Golf states "Golf is played in a round of 18 (or fewer) holes on a course by striking a BALL with a club." (As you said - it not a ball)
    Good golfing!!

  • #35

    Karen (Saturday, 20 April 2019 18:34)

    Playing her second shot from a tricky lie, to a par 3 hole, the player took her stance, and had a practice swing, then addresses the 'ball' to strike the 'ball' and had an 'air shot'. Re-positioning herself she then struck the 'ball' which disintegrated- it was a mushroom. The players ball in play was located a few meters away, the hole was completed with the original ball. (After a few giggles and a suggestion to visit spec savers), What would be the ruling here if any??? Hitting wrong ball, well it was a mushroom, or failing to identify the ball in play, or just good fortune the the 'ball' struck for her intended second shot was not a ball... Cheers

  • #34

    Jack (Thursday, 21 March 2019 03:51)

    Ref #33
    You say that the marker pole is defined on your course as a moveable obstruction. I assume that this definition has been issued by your club committee as a Local Rule, therefore your only relief is by removing the pole. However, as this is not something that can be easily removed, it would be best if the Local Rule was amended to state that the pole is an immovable obstruction. Then full relief is available under Rule 15-2. All Rules apply to all players - the ability to move an obstruction cannot be available to some players and not everyone.
    You should discuss this with your club committee.

  • #33

    Nigel (Wednesday, 20 March 2019 04:14)

    Black and white direction marker pole in middle of fairway defined as movable obstruction. However it is made of iron and cannot be easily removed if at all by female players. If you cannot remove it do you get relief if interfering with stance or swing

  • #32

    Jack (Tuesday, 05 March 2019 01:25)

    Ref #31
    Interesting question Dave as I have never heard of a "Florida Ambrose" competition!! It is not covered in the Rules of Golf.
    I have had to Google it for information. In most ambrose games, all players in a team play from the same spot, so to answer your question, I can see no reason why the third person cannot play. However, I also don't understand why that person should "sit out the shot".
    You need to check the competition rules not the Rules of Golf for your answer.
    Cheers

  • #31

    Dave (Sunday, 03 March 2019 21:46)

    Hi. When playing a Florida Ambrose (3 people) and the 2 players hit their 2nd shots out of bounds, can the player who sat out the shot be permitted to have a shot from that same position?
    Cheers

  • #30

    Jack (Monday, 11 February 2019 02:07)

    Ref #29
    Patrick, your first obvious error was playing the wrong ball which you thought was your provisional. Under Rule 6-3c(1) the General Penalty applies, which is two-strokes in stroke play. As you did not realise you had played the wrong ball until you reached the green, your original provisional ball would be deemed lost and you were very lucky that your first ball was found in bounds. If this first ball had been OOB you would have had to retrace your steps back to your second shot and correct your error. This must be done BEFORE you play off the next tee, or you would be disqualified.
    Rule 18-3c confirms you can play a provisional ball more than once until you reach the estimated point of the original ball, but when you played the wrong provisional ball you received the penalty, and I would therefore agree with your competition secretary’s decision.

  • #29

    Patrick (Sunday, 10 February 2019 17:11)

    I played my tee shot to the fairway from where I hit my second shot which I pulled left and thought may have gone out of bounds.
    So as not to cause delay, I played a provisional ball which I knocked down into the rough but still well short of the point where my original ball had reached.
    I found what I thought was my provisional ball and played it on to the green and then moved on to where my I thought that my original ball had possibly gone out of bounds but found that it was still in bounds and so I played it on to the green.
    When I got to the green and picked up the provisional ball, I discovered that it was not in fact my ball and that I must have played a wrong ball when playing the provisional from the rough but as I had found my original ball in play, within the allowed time, I finished out the hole with my original ball and disregarded the provisional.
    When the competition secretary of my club heard about this, he penalized me two shots for playing a wrong ball regardless of the fact that I had found my original and that as such, I believe, that any strokes played or penalties incurred whilst playing the provisional were null and void because the original had been found and was in play.
    This cost me the monthly medal as I lost by a stroke due to the penalty that he applied.
    Was he wrong in his actions ?

  • #28

    Jack (Thursday, 17 January 2019 15:11)

    Ref#27
    Hi Mike.
    The procedure for a ball out of bounds :–
    Determine the point where ball went out. Find a spot on the nearest fairway edge no closer to the hole, and drop a ball on the fairway within 2-club lengths of that spot. Penalty - 2-strokes.
    This means that if the ball that went OOB was your drive, you will be playing you 4th shot from the fairway.
    Finally, you cannot use this option if a provisional ball has been played.
    (The wording in our Local Rule is being amended to clarify this procedure.)

  • #27

    Mike (Thursday, 17 January 2019 03:05)

    Hi Jack. Re the 2019 local rule following:
    ALTERNATIVE PLAY FOR A BALL LOST OR OUT-OF-BOUNDS
    "For two penalty strokes, the player may take relief by dropping a ball in the fairway within two club-lengths of the estimated point of loss and no closer to the hole".
    Question: If a ball has been hit out of bounds and the player knows roughly at which point it crossed the fence, two club lengths from the fence is still in the rough. Can he really take his ball several meters further to the fairway and then drop it on the fairway two club lengths from the edge of the rough?
    That is what one member was telling everyone today. Is he correct?

  • #26

    Jack (Tuesday, 06 November 2018 01:43)

    Ref # 25
    Hi Jerome. Sounds like you had great fun at your wolf and skins game, but I cannot even try to calculate your scores - you all made so many Rules errors, my glues is that you would (should) have been disqualified!!
    For example, under the Rules of golf, you cannot drop a ball when the ball is lost and take a two stroke penalty. You have to return to the spot where the ball was last played from and also take a two stroke penalty.
    A provisional ball can only be played before you go forward to search.
    I won't pick up your other errors, especially when I read that wolf is played with only 4 players.
    Keep on enjoying your fun golf and if you get serious, I will be pleased to answerother questions on the Rules.
    Cheers, Jack

  • #25

    Jerome Padilla (Monday, 05 November 2018 06:43)

    thank you in advance. facts
    1. playing within a 5 some.
    2. everyone playing wolf and skins.
    3. lots of leaves on a par 5 hole.

    Situation.
    me and 2 other players hit our balls into an area with many fallen leaves.
    player 1 approaches his ball and hits it.
    Player 2's ball is identified
    I continue to search and after 5 minutes our group allows if a ball is lost to drop and take a 2 stroke penalty- stroke and distance. So i dropped hit and registered a 7 on the par 5.

    my partner on wolf scores a 7 as well
    my 3 opponents score 2 bogeys and the person who unknown to the group had hit my ball onto the green, putted out and scored a bogey.
    Our opponents declared they won the hole with 4 carry overs.

    Bummer for us.

    Then we tee off on the next hole. we all hit , not leaves easy to find our balls, i hit left rough , the person that hit my .ball on the last hole resulting in my thinking by ball was lost, hit to the right rough. we clearly saw the ball come to rest from the tee box.. I hit my ball on the green, well marked 8 with , my presumed lost ball was a well marked 3 . my opponents shot was short. At this time we my opponent noticed and stated that this is your ball well marked as well. It turns out that he , played out my ball on the par 5, teed off on the next hole, hit his 2nd shot short and then noticed the wrong ball scored.... what scored do i register on the par 5? am in penalized? we had a match with team play which presumed lost , but would have most likely tied, i played my provisional from the point my ball was lost , group agreement, which was the spot that i would have dropped if we discovered the wrong ball error right away, but as stated we did not. how do we correctly scored this scenario.

  • #24

    Jack (Sunday, 07 October 2018 21:31)

    Ref # 23
    Hi Frank. If you play a ball lodged in a bush or tree, no penalties would apply UNLESS there is a Local Rule at the course being played which prohibits play from a STAKED tree/bush. In which case, you would be penalised 2-strokes (Stroke Play) or Loss of Hole (Match Play).
    The message here is: ALWAYS read the Local Rules BEFORE you commence your round.
    Finally, if you had declared the ball unplayable, you must proceed as described in Rule 28. The ball is always DROPPED not PLACED.